chiark / gitweb /
topgit.git
10 years agotg.sh: Runtime tg-* command check
Bert Wesarg [Wed, 6 Aug 2008 07:49:24 +0000 (09:49 +0200)]
tg.sh: Runtime tg-* command check

Check for tg commands at runtime, not the hard coded list inside tg.sh.

Signed-off-by: Bert Wesarg <bert.wesarg@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Petr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
10 years agoPretty print the help creation commands in Makefile.
Russell Steicke [Wed, 6 Aug 2008 02:43:48 +0000 (10:43 +0800)]
Pretty print the help creation commands in Makefile.

Print "[HELP] cmdname" while compiling the tg-cmdname.txt files.

Signed-off-by: Russell Steicke <russellsteicke@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Petr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
10 years agocreate-help.sh: Fix 'tg update' generated help text
Petr Baudis [Tue, 5 Aug 2008 22:31:21 +0000 (00:31 +0200)]
create-help.sh: Fix 'tg update' generated help text

10 years agoMake "tg help cmd" print cmd help
Russell Steicke [Mon, 4 Aug 2008 12:21:21 +0000 (20:21 +0800)]
Make "tg help cmd" print cmd help

"tg help" looked like it needed help, and stuff it needed to know
about was already in README.

Use awk to extract help information from the README file.  Store
the help files in $(PREFIX)/share/topgit.  "tg help foo" will cat
$(PREFIX)/share/topgit/tg-foo.txt.

Signed-off-by: Russell Steicke <russellsteicke@gmail.com>
10 years agotg-info: pretty print dependencies
Bert Wesarg [Tue, 5 Aug 2008 11:19:07 +0000 (13:19 +0200)]
tg-info: pretty print dependencies

Print one dependency per line in tg-info output.

[pb: Simplified implementation.]

Signed-off-by: Bert Wesarg <bert.wesarg@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Petr Baudis <pasky@suse.cz>
10 years agotg-create.sh: Pre-fill [PATCH] line with patch name
Petr Baudis [Tue, 5 Aug 2008 22:18:59 +0000 (00:18 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: Pre-fill [PATCH] line with patch name

10 years agotg-create.sh: Introduce topgit.subjectprefix config option
Bert Wesarg [Tue, 5 Aug 2008 19:13:30 +0000 (21:13 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: Introduce topgit.subjectprefix config option

Set the topgit.subjectprefix config option to prepend the string to the [PATCH]
field in the Subject: line of the '.topmsg' file.

[pb: Fixed conflicts and calling style.]

Signed-off-by: Bert Wesarg <bert.wesarg@googlemail.com>
10 years agotg-create.sh: fix help string
Bert Wesarg [Tue, 5 Aug 2008 15:07:38 +0000 (17:07 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: fix help string

The help string of the tg-create command was not changed with the commit
"Change usage (-d ->arguments) <ab712f2ed92a6e451bf2d482b03d2559697bf100>".

Signed-off-by: Bert Wesarg <bert.wesarg@googlemail.com>
10 years agoneeds_update(): Fix $missing_deps passing
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:47:58 +0000 (20:47 +0200)]
needs_update(): Fix $missing_deps passing

Instead of piping git cat-file output to our loop, we have to use
a temporary file so that $missing_deps gets exported properly.
Also, get rid of an extra leading space in its output.

10 years agotg-create.sh: Introduce topgit.{to,cc,bcc} config options
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:30:03 +0000 (20:30 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: Introduce topgit.{to,cc,bcc} config options

10 years agoREADME: Mark future tg patch features as TODO clearly
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:20:51 +0000 (20:20 +0200)]
README: Mark future tg patch features as TODO clearly

10 years agotg-create.sh: Change usage (-d -> arguments)
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:18:04 +0000 (20:18 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: Change usage (-d -> arguments)

As suggested on IRC (I think by doener), it is more in the Git usage
spirit for tg create to take the patch dependencies as extra arguments
instead of -d parameter argument.

10 years agoREADME: TODO tg tidy -> tg collapse
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:13:47 +0000 (20:13 +0200)]
README: TODO tg tidy -> tg collapse

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Clean up printing status columns
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:01:39 +0000 (20:01 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Clean up printing status columns

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Fix nonempty indicator misalignment
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:01:16 +0000 (20:01 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Fix nonempty indicator misalignment

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Mark branches with missing dependencies by '\!'
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 18:00:25 +0000 (20:00 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Mark branches with missing dependencies by '\!'

10 years agoneeds_update(): Return non-zero if update is required
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 17:50:04 +0000 (19:50 +0200)]
needs_update(): Return non-zero if update is required

tg summary can avoid a single extra fork this way, and will be
able to harvest extra status information from needs_update.

10 years agotg-update.sh: Abort on missing dependencies
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 17:47:46 +0000 (19:47 +0200)]
tg-update.sh: Abort on missing dependencies

10 years agotg-info.sh: Show missing dependencies (needs_update() enhancement)
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 17:43:07 +0000 (19:43 +0200)]
tg-info.sh: Show missing dependencies (needs_update() enhancement)

needs_update() now verifies if the _dep refs exists and adds it
to a $missing_deps list if that's not the case.

10 years agotg-patch.sh: Bring deplist format in sync with tg info
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 17:32:49 +0000 (19:32 +0200)]
tg-patch.sh: Bring deplist format in sync with tg info

10 years agotg-info.sh: Fix list of >1 dependencies
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 17:31:45 +0000 (19:31 +0200)]
tg-info.sh: Fix list of >1 dependencies

10 years agotg.sh: setup_hook(): Test existence instead of -x
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 14:28:41 +0000 (16:28 +0200)]
tg.sh: setup_hook(): Test existence instead of -x

Also, be more set -e friendly in boolean lists.

10 years agoCheck for pre-commit hook existence.
Russell Steicke [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 14:14:01 +0000 (22:14 +0800)]
Check for pre-commit hook existence.

Running tg in a repo without an active pre-commit hook fails
saying

  grep: .git/hooks/pre-commit: No such file or directory
  cat: .git/hooks/pre-commit: No such file or directory

Even "tg help" does this!  So add extra checks for existence
of the pre-commit hook.

10 years agoREADME: TODO for tg tidy
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 14:02:10 +0000 (16:02 +0200)]
README: TODO for tg tidy

10 years agoREADME: TODO for tg depend
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 12:54:12 +0000 (14:54 +0200)]
README: TODO for tg depend

10 years agoREADME: Two TODOs for tg summary
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 12:49:33 +0000 (14:49 +0200)]
README: Two TODOs for tg summary

10 years agoREADME: Fix synopsis of resuming tg create
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 11:32:12 +0000 (13:32 +0200)]
README: Fix synopsis of resuming tg create

Noticed-by: Samuel Tardieu <sam@rfc1149.net>
10 years agoTopGit v0.1
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 02:35:44 +0000 (04:35 +0200)]
TopGit v0.1

10 years agoREADME: Reword randomly
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 02:32:47 +0000 (04:32 +0200)]
README: Reword randomly

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Add a 0 column denoting branch emptiness
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 02:21:01 +0000 (04:21 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Add a 0 column denoting branch emptiness

10 years agotg-delete.sh: Factor out the emptiness test to tg.sh:branch_empty()
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 02:20:04 +0000 (04:20 +0200)]
tg-delete.sh: Factor out the emptiness test to tg.sh:branch_empty()

10 years agotg-patch.sh: Fix list of >1 dependencies
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 02:00:46 +0000 (04:00 +0200)]
tg-patch.sh: Fix list of >1 dependencies

10 years agotg-create.sh: Fix several bugs when resuming after conflicts
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 01:56:34 +0000 (03:56 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: Fix several bugs when resuming after conflicts

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Take base revision from for-each-ref output
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 01:38:30 +0000 (03:38 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Take base revision from for-each-ref output

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Reuse already available base rev information
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 01:27:21 +0000 (03:27 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Reuse already available base rev information

10 years agotg.sh: branch_contains(): Using -z instead of wc is faster in the common case
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 01:27:01 +0000 (03:27 +0200)]
tg.sh: branch_contains(): Using -z instead of wc is faster in the common case

10 years agotg-update.sh: Fix recursive update shell call
Petr Baudis [Sun, 3 Aug 2008 01:01:37 +0000 (03:01 +0200)]
tg-update.sh: Fix recursive update shell call

The sh -i would not have correct stdin, but tg update did not exit
with an error status on base-head merge conflicts in the first place.

10 years agotg-summary.sh: Simplify (thanks to spearce)
Petr Baudis [Sat, 2 Aug 2008 23:50:23 +0000 (01:50 +0200)]
tg-summary.sh: Simplify (thanks to spearce)

10 years agotg-create.sh: Reword final advice
Petr Baudis [Sat, 2 Aug 2008 20:41:00 +0000 (22:41 +0200)]
tg-create.sh: Reword final advice

The original tone was too agressive.

10 years agoTopGit - A different patch queue manager
Petr Baudis [Sat, 2 Aug 2008 19:17:07 +0000 (21:17 +0200)]
TopGit - A different patch queue manager

Initial commit for TopGit. It is probably still awfully buggy,
but should be actually feature-complete for v0.1 now. The most
basic variants of create, delete, info, patch, summary and update
commands plus a trivial pre-commit hook is available, and we can
deal with recursive updates too.